Tenfold Hate


The Wait
November 7, 2007, 5:54 pm
Filed under: Gaming, MMORPGs | Tags: ,

It’s been a long year for online RPGers. As the days shorten and the year draws to a close, many of us find ourselves forced to engage in other forms of escapism. Television. Beer. Smut. Religion. Pick your poison. If you asked me a year ago how I envisioned Autumn ’07, I’d have painted a cozy picture of me growing fat and atrophied in front of my computer after work each night–the radiator hissing in the background–as I braved dank, pixelated dungeons and ignored the phone calls of friends, family, and ex-girlfriends.

Alas, this was not to be. Funcom’s Age of Conan delayed until Q1 2008. Mythic’s Warhammer: Age of Reckoning pushed back to the spring. Vanguard: Saga of Heroes plagued with technical woes. Lord of the Rings Online, though rendered beautifully, just did not distinguish itself enough from the World of Warcraft playstyle to hold my interest. ‘Give EQ2 a shot,’ some might say, or, ‘Go back to WoW, it wasn’t that bad.’ Sure, if the motherboard on my gaming rig hadn’t fried back in February I probably would bend. But when the gremlins inside my Dell decided to smite my comp last winter, I pledged to myself that I would be more productive. Spend more time with friends. Walk the dog more. And not buy a new comp until there was a game on the horizon that really grabbed my imagination and screamed to be played.

Thus, I was forced to poke my head out of the virtual hobbit hole I’ve been hiding in for the last two years and reacquaint myself with the real world. Admittedly, it was a healthy choice both mentally and physically. I mended some of the real-world friendships I’d forsaken in lieu of late night raids with my virtual buddies, wrote a heck of a lot more (which is what I do in RL to pay the bills), and found subtle joy in things like ‘sunlight’ and ‘conversation’ (across a bar or dinner table rather than over Ventrilo or Teamspeak).

But all this time, something’s been missing. Now I rear my head like old Mr. Lugosi rising from his coffin after a long slumber. “Vhere are all zhose virtual adventures promised at zee dawn of 2007?” So I wait, hoping 2008 brings something I can sink my teeth into.

Comments Off on The Wait





Comments are closed.



