Tenfold Hate


Vanguard Week One: An Overview
December 9, 2007, 9:09 pm
Filed under: Vanguard: Saga of Heroes

Today marks my first full week as a resident of Telon. My bloodmage reached level 14 this afternoon. There’s no shortage of quests at these early levels. In fact, they seem to pop up in huge clusters. I’m finding by the time I’ve made my way through 3/4 of them, I’ve dinged, run to town to buy spells, and then come upon yet another cluster of quests that pull me away from the region I had been exploring. I guess I’m not a completist when it comes to these things.

Almost everything you kill in this game impacts your reputation with one faction or another, either positively or negatively. I’m not sure how significant a role reputation plays in the game at so early a stage. I just hope it doesn’t come back to bite me on the butt down the road. I’m of the mindset that reputation should have positive repercussions for those with outstanding rep with a particular faction, but it should never be used as a glass ceiling to prohibit players from obtaining certain crafting patterns or access to a dungeon. I don’t have time for that type of silliness.

I had my first opportunity to try my healing shoes on for size in a small group quest outside the Neamsong Bunkers this week. I did okay, considering my group was composed of a sorcerer and a rogue. After our first wipe, I quickly learned that the traditional healing spells in my toolbar were just not energy efficient if I was gonna do a halfway decent job keeping my small band of adventurers alive. “Entwining Vein” is my friend. The spell drains life from a foe and transfers the hit points to an ally, allowing the bloodmage to mend allies and mutilate enemies all in one handy incantation.

The fun factor of this game, admittedly, has been much higher than I expected and technical difficulties on my new comp have been virtually non-existent. I did experience two crashes to desktop, both this weekend. Neither made me a happy camper. Otherwise it’s been smooth sailing.

Comments Off on Vanguard Week One: An Overview





Comments are closed.



