Tenfold Hate


Shakespeare & SOE
January 4, 2008, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Gaming, MMORPGs

I don’t know if it’s post-Christmas shell shock or what, but it’s been a pretty uneventful week gaming newswise. Since I was out of the loop for most of 2007 with a fried laptop, you’ll be spared any sort of 2007 wrap up from me.

My return to WoW has proven a lot more entertaining than my return to Vanguard. I got through high school and four and a half years of college never having read a whole Shakespeare play. Likewise, after 25 years as an RPGer and four as an MMORPGer–I have yet to make it past the complimentary first month free subscription of any SOE title. At least SOE are in good company. As a big comic book geek, I’m betting their DC Heroes MMO is the one that finally ropes me in if it’s done right.

3 Comments

I could be wrong but I’m under the impression that Sony views SOE as a cash cow and as long as they can generate a revenue stream without too much investment they will do that. Because of that, I don’t hold out much hope that SOE will ever make a game from scratch that is any good again.

Maybe I’m cynical, but that is how I see things.

SOE, prove me wrong.

Comment by grouchygamer

Um, why *wouldn’t* you want to read a Shakespeare play? They haven’t lasted four hundred years because they’re dull…!

“Two Gentlemen from Verona” is just laugh-out-loud funny… it starts with an Abbot & Costello routine and just gets worse from there.

Well, I don’t count because I am a Shakespeare fan… but really… when I was in high school I thought it was dry and boring and something to be shunned, but really, it’s not like that at all. Funny, full of action, intrigue, romance — something for everyone.

Definitely start with his comedies. “Two Gentlemen,” “Twelfth Night” — those start funny and never let up.

Also: Plays (and poems) are meant to be read ALOUD. So do yourself a favor 🙂 Get into character. I GUARANTEE you won’t regret it.

I swear… the biggest barrier to getting people into Shakespeare is shaking their preconceptions. My kids both love Shakespeare. Do you think I could have brought them to so many Shakespeare plays if they weren’t fun for everyone? The Forest Theater’s production of “A Midsummer’s Night Dream” was … simply … the funniest thing I have ever seen. And in what a setting! The pine forest within which Carmel-by-the-Sea is built. Chilly summer evening (Coastal Northern California gets cold at night, even in summer), all of us seated on wooden benches and blankets… Puck deciding a sword battle is boring, so he freezes the action and replaces the swords with fruit… light sabers… 🙂

Comment by Tipa

Don’t worry, Tipa. I came around to the Ol’ Bard–and a lot of other stuff I was resistant to as a despondent teen/early twentysomething–by the time I hit my mid-twenties. In fact, I scored tickets to see Patrick Stewart in a Brooklyn Academy of Music production of MacBeth next month. Woot!

Comment by tenfoldhate




Comments are closed.



