Tenfold Hate


Rest in Peace, Gary Gygax
March 4, 2008, 2:53 pm
Filed under: Dungeons & Dragons

I was deeply saddened when I came across the news that Gary Gygax, creator of Dungeons and Dragons–and the man who, along with Dave Arneson, invented the RPG as we know it today–passed away. There’s no real way to measure the impact this man had on my adolescence. For over thirty years, Gygax fueled the imaginations of countless numbers of gamers and fantasy enthusiasts while unknowingly laying the groundwork for most of the systems still present in modern-day MMORPGs. The gaming world has lost it’s most iconic figure. My sympathies go out to his family. Shitty day.

1 Comment

Sigh. Your sentiment seconded, he created something pretty special and died too young – my thoughts are with his wife and kids.

Comment by shoinan




Comments are closed.



