Tenfold Hate


Bought a PS3
November 7, 2008, 10:31 am
Filed under: Console Gaming, MMORPGs

Okay, I picked up a PS3 this week. I haven’t even hooked it up or purchased any games yet. I’ve devoted all my game time the last four years to MMORPGs, so I’m not even up on what seems worth playing. The last two console games I purchased were Red Dead Revolver and X-Men: Legends for the PS2. That’s how out of the loop I am.

I’m putting my MMORPG playing on hold for the most part until TCoS is released Stateside. I am riding out my 3-month WAR subscription. As I’ve pointed out before, the classes are awesome; the look, feel, and style of the world is spectacular; and the game appeals to my fantasy sensibilities more than any other MMO outside of LoTRO, but if they don’t fix the current lack of Open World RvR, I don’t think I’ll be sticking with it long term.

I still feel it’s the best MMORPG currently on the market for people who need an alternative to PvE, but the player interaction just isn’t there. The PLAYERS are there, but for some reason, no one talks to each other! It’s bizarre. In a strange way, I BLAME the ease of grouping, be it the instant scenario queues that wisk people out of the “real” world or the non-commital, freestyle nature of public questing.

When I look at my gaming history over the last few years, it’s been all about the fantasy: WoW, Guild Wars, AoC, LoTRO, Vanguard, and DDO. So it’s about time that I hang up my sheath for a little bit and try something new. Any suggestions?

I’m eyeing Fallout 3, but beyond that, not sure where to start…

3 Comments

LittleBigPlanet is cool 🙂

Grats on your PS3, send me your PSN ID when you get one.

Comment by tipa

Fallout 3 would be better on the PC since I don’t think they are releasing downloadable add-ons for the PS3 version, but its still a great game. The PS3 games I like best are Metal Gear Solid 3 (sneaking game) and LittleBigPlanet (online platformer).

The Xbox 360 seems to have all the RPGs for this console generation.

Comment by Lars

Definitely give Fallout 3 a look (on PC). For PS3, be sure to check out LittleBigPlanet. Excellent starting point for all PS3 users.

Comment by shoinan




Comments are closed.



