Tenfold Hate


Holiday Weekend Chock Full O’Gaming
November 26, 2008, 9:36 am
Filed under: Lord of the Rings Online

I just wanted to wish everyone a happy and safe Thanksgiving. Be sure to spend a good amount of time away from the keyboard with your family, friends, pets, or whomever it is you value in the real world. Outside of family fun tomorrow and some further alcohol-induced celebrating with friends Friday, I intend to devote a good chunk of the weekend to LoTRO.

My guardian is hovering around level 24. He’s a tinker, and I’ve devoted the majority of my game time this week to crafting. LoTRO’s crafting system is unparalleled, IMHO. They managed to couple simplicity and accessibility with depth and practicality. There’s nothing clunky about it, it never feels dumbed down or like you’re grinding through the process to get to the GOOD items (WoW), it never feels like punishment (Vanguard, I’m talking to you), and the quality of the items makes it worth the investment if you put some time and effort into your tradeskills.

I’m still dumbfounded that LoTRO of all games has captured my interest so intensely. The warm, detailed world; the enchanting music; and the strong community trump all the tiresome first gen MMORPG elements of game play that would normally sour me pretty fast. I’m nearing the end of that honeymoon period I always have with a freshly started game (usually around a month of intensive playing for me) and I’ve found very little to criticize. It’s looking like Middle Earth may be my home for a good while.

3 Comments

Better crafting than EQ2? Hmm interesting. I havent crafted in LOTRO in a while though so I cannot compare

Comment by Hudson

EQ2 has the best crafting that I’ve seen, but I consider LotRO’s to be number 2.

Anyway, have a happy and safe Thanksgiving!

Comment by H00LiGAN

Yeah, I haven’t played EQ2 enough to make any judgments on their crafting–I should’ve made that clear in my post.

The Shadow Odyssey looks spectacular and if it weren’t for RL friends playing LoTRO, viscerally preferring LoTRO to EQ’s world, and the fact that EQ2 is five expansions in at this point, I’d have given it another go.

Comment by tenfoldhate




Comments are closed.



