Tenfold Hate


Curse You LoTRO, I Can Never Chuckle Smugly at Crafters Again
December 11, 2008, 2:03 pm
Filed under: Lord of the Rings Online

Last night I spent the better part of the evening completing the cooking quest that rewarded my guardian with access to superior ovens. This involved a lot of hopping back and forth between my historian (who was farming most of the ingredients–and by farming, I mean planting crops and harvesting them, not “farming” as MMORPGers have come to know it) and my tinker (who cooked everything and spent the night running from town to town, delivering the hobbits their freshly cooked meals). My night as a glorified medieval pizza delivery boy garnered me just under 2500 xp upon completion.

I always chuckled smugly inside when people listed crafting as one of the important features of an MMORPG. But LoTRO has managed to convert me. Again, I attribute this to the way they weave the MMO tasks we’re all too familiar with into their carefully constructed world with top-notch storytelling. It’s a pleasure just to BE in Middle Earth, and that antsy, “C’mon, c’mon, what’s next?” that quickly takes hold when I’m playing an MMO is still curiously absent. There’s something very Zen about the world Turbine created. It’s relaxing. The detailed artistry conveys a true sense of atmosphere and place, from the music to the water textures.

I feel like giving myself a swift kick in the ass for not delving into LoTRO sooner. It’s pretty exciting to revisit my preconceptions and uncover something unexpected. It suggests I may very well still be receptive to what the current MMO world has to throw at me if it’s done right. Nothing like a healthy dose of STFU for my cynical “been there, done that side” every once it a while. And that’s what LoTRO has served up–and its tasting pretty good.

1 Comment

“There’s something very Zen about the world Turbine created. It’s relaxing. … I feel like giving myself a swift kick in the ass for not delving into LoTRO sooner.”

I feel exactly the same way. I tried out LotRO around Christmas, and it had me hooked within the first day. I love the world, and it just is so relaxing … I feel no pressure to hurry, no pressure to get to the level cap, or whatever. I just go around doing my thing. I farm, I cook, I go about doing quests, I gather materials — basically whatever takes my fancy. The world is so lush that it’s a reward in itself for exploring.

I have a hunter, captain, and burglar at the moment (levels 22, 18, and 17 respectively), though I will also try a minstrel, warden, and either a lore-master or runekeeper once I get those first three off the ground. 🙂

Comment by Mallika




Comments are closed.



