Tenfold Hate


New Wolverine Trailer
December 15, 2008, 4:04 pm
Filed under: Comics, Film

I’m approaching this spring’s X-Men Origins: Wolverine with severe reservations, based mostly on the extreme suck that was the third installment of the X-Men franchise. But I’ve gotta say, this trailer has piqued my interest. First off, if I’d been editor-in-chief at Marvel in the early nineties, I’d have squelched fleshing out Wolverine’s origins in the first place. I always thought his story played out better veiled in mystery than the stories of Victorian-era Canada fleshed out during a time when Marvel really hit an all-time low in terms of storytelling.

Anyway, this trailer is a mine field of nods to comic book geekdom, which I’m always a sucker for. However, this is dangerous territory, because it provides enough filler to make a trailer look awesome without suggesting any substantial plot. You’ll notice everyone from Emma Frost and the Blob to a young Storm and Gambit making cameos. But nods to nerd-dom does not a movie make–that’s where Last Stand failed. They culled superficial elements of X-lore, put them all in a blender, and added explosions.

Hopefully Jackman and company can flesh out a coherent, gripping story that doesn’t pee all over the existing lore, something Last Stand was not able to do on any level. Liev Schreiber looks like a great choice for Sabretooth and I always find Hugh Jackman likeable. And from the brief clips of them together, the two actors nail that antagonistic anti-chemistry Logan and Creed have for each other.

It’s hard to say what the worst Marvel adaptation has been. For me it’s a three-way tie for last between Fantastic Four, Elektra, and Spider-man 3.

Check out the trailer here!

4 Comments

If I recall right, the whole Weapon X project was done in Canada, and had that guy with the maple leaf on his costume…this should be..interesting.

Comment by Danshir

Yes, James Hudson and Alpha Flight. Looks like they’re riffing off that concept but replacing Alpha Flight with characters from the X-mythos–Gambit, Blob, etc.

Comment by tenfoldhate

Whats wrong with Captain Canada? Bah. While I’m glad they are throwing Gambit a bone, I really hope as a former Comic book nerd* I still like em, I just don’t buy new stuff…* they don’t screw this up..some more.

Comment by Danshir

I agree wholeheartedly. Alpha Flight had some interesting members. There was Guardian (Capt. Canada, as you call him, heh), his wife Heather (who took his costume and became Vindicator after he died), Sasquatch, Puck (a creepy acrobatic dwarf), and the elven-esque Aurora and Northstar (who became the first gay comic book character).

There’s a ton of material there to work with, but I guess they wanted to go more mainstream and stick with characters who’d be immediately recognizable to fans of the comic book and the kiddie cartoon from the nineties.

I would bet money that Zack Snyder’s Watchmen is gonna be solid, but with Wolverine, I can’t muster up more than a “let’s wait and see” attitude.

All the Marvel movie franchises of the last decade either have turned into poop (X-Men, Spider-man) or come out of the gate as poop (Daredevil, Elektra, Fantastic Four).

Comment by tenfoldhate




Comments are closed.



